Selection is one of the highest honors for scientists

Four University of Illinois professors have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest professional honors a scientist can receive.

John Cronan, Jeffrey Moore, Donald Ort, and Gary Parker are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates announced by the Academy on May 2. The professors each come from departments within the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

“We couldn’t be more proud of the newest members of the National Academy of Sciences from our college,” said Feng Sheng Hu, Harry E. Preble Dean of the College of LAS. “This is one of the highest honors for a scientist. This confirms what we’ve known all along—that these individuals are leading researchers in their fields, and that their departments and the College of LAS are excellent settings for the advancement of science.”

Robert J. Jones, the chancellor of the Urbana-Champaign campus, said the announcement is an honor for campus.

Lois E. Yoksoulian, Illinois News Bureau

Read the full article…